Beechworth & District Hockey Club was formed in 1999 by co- founders Anne Jovaris, John Jewell and Jane Fowler. The Club was formed to provide residents of Beechworth, Yackandandah, Stanley, Chiltern, Wooragee and surrounds the opportunity to play field hockey with a club that had a focus on family and fun.


The colours of the Club are black shorts, skirts or shirt and royal blue and white hoop-striped socks. All juniors and senior men wear a blue and white striped playing short sleeved shirt while the senior women wear a blue, black and white playing singlet.


In its first year of competition (1999) the Club entered three teams (Division 3 Women, U12 Boys and U12 Girls) in the Hockey Albury Wodonga (HAW) Association’s winter competition.  Membership has grown from the original 3 teams to 16 teams and 198 players in 2007/08.  We currently have 11 teams and 120 families involved with our Club.


In its 16 seasons of competition (1999 – 2014) the Club has had numerous successes and achievements with the highlights being:


  • Winning 16 Premierships and 12 Runners Up;
  • Winning 12 Best and Fairest Awards;
  • More than 40 players representing HAW;
  • 13 players representing Victoria;
  • James Jewell representing Australia;
  • Becoming the largest sporting Club in Indigo Shire Council in 2006
  • Still the largest sporting Club in Indigo Shire;
  • Receiving the Club/ Organisation of the Year Award for Indigo Shire in 2000 (Border Mail Active Australia Awards); and
  • Inducting John Jewell (2003), Anne Jovaris (2004), Heather Box (2011) and Alison (Fitz) Fitzgerald (2011) as Life Members.


The Club has a tradition of recording games played by each player. In 2005 Ewan Kelly was the first player to reach 200 games for the club and in 2012 Karen (Jonesy) Jones and Shirley Pilkington were the first people in the clubs history to reach 300 games. Shirley has now continued on to reach 350.


For a full list of achievements and games played please click here

A third of the Club’s players come from Beechworth, another third from Yackandandah and the remaining third from surrounding areas including Chiltern, Wooragee, Wangaratta, Wodonga and Tallangatta.


The Club draws players from a wide range of schools including Beechworth, Montessori, St Joseph’s, Stanley, Wooragee, Middle Indigo, Chiltern, Beechworth Secondary, Wodonga Catholic, Yackandandah, Osbornes Flat, Wangaratta High, Scots, Galen, Tallangatta Primary and Secondary schools. Over the years the Club, through John Jewell established strong relationships with many local schools through the delivery of school hockey programs. This relationship has continued with Beechworth and Yackandandah schools.


Many of our Club’s players have played for their school and have had great success especially Beechworth Secondary School girls being crowned Victorian State Champions 3 times.


Beechworth is the focal point for the Club with Committee meetings, banking and postal facilities located in Beechworth.  In 2010 the Club secured a meeting room and store room at the Baarmutha Park Pavilion along with cricket, football, netball and golf.  Our home ground is at Yackandandah Sports Park and efforts are underway to secure funding for a synthetic field in Beechworth, though this will be a long process.


The Club is run by volunteers and there is a large time commitment to ensure each team has an enjoyable season including coaching, managing, providing hockey and goalie equipment and uniforms for the whole season. The Committee also focusing on player, coach and umpire development, family involvement, game enjoyment and raising enough money to fund the club.


All players and supporters abide by our Code of Behaviour (insert link to document).